Museum of Chinese in America's 2012 Legacy Awards Gala Breaks Fundraising Record in Fashion and Design Themed Event




(New York, NY -- December 4, 2012) Museum of Chinese in America (MOCA) celebrated its annual gala last night at Cipriani Wall Street. The event drew a spirited crowd of 530 guests and raised over $1.3 million, a Museum record. The evening was a glamorous mixture of New York City’s downtown and uptown personalities, philanthropists, celebrities, and creative forces. The evening’s program opened with remarks by Patricia P. Tang (Co-Vice Chair, MOCA Board of Trustees) and Helen Koh (Executive Director, MOCA).



Honorees of the Legacy Awards in the fashion and design themed program included Silas Chou (President and CEO, Novel Holdings Group), who was presented the award by Maya Lin (Co-Chair, MOCA Board of Trustees); Angelica Cheung (Editorial Director, Vogue China), who was presented her award by Harold Koda (Curator in Charge, The Costume Institute, Metropolitan Museum of Art); Calvin Tsao (Architect, Tsao & McKown), who was presented his award by Chien Chung (Didi) Pei (Principal, Pei Partnership Architecture, son of architect I.M. Pei); and Humberto Leon and Carol Lim (Co-Founders, Opening Ceremony and Creative Directors, Kenzo), whose awards were presented by Alexa Chung.


Fashion designers were well represented tonight, including the impressive list to be featured in MOCA’s upcoming exhibition Front Row: Chinese American Designers, opening in April 2013: Thomas Chen, Melinda Eng, Derek Lam, Jade Lai, Wayne Lee, Phillip Lim, Mary Ping, Vivienne Tam, Yeohlee Teng, Zang Toi, Vera Wang, and Jason Wu.

Fashion models included Georgie Badiel, Bonnie Chen, Sui He, Lily Kwong, Qin Shu Pei, Sun Fei Fei, Alek Wek, and Xiao Wen Ju.


Notable attendees included Mei-Mei Tuan (Co-Chair, MOCA Board of Trustees), Gala Co-Chairs Thomas C. Ahn, Michelle Koo, Patricia P. Tang, and Theodore T. Wang. Emcees were David Henry Hwang and BD Wong. Other notable guests included Jen Brill, Cai Guo-Qiang, Celia Chou, Cecilia Dean, Mark Di Suvero, Maxwell K. (Mike) Hearn, Olivia Kim, Ruth and Harold Newman, Tom Finkelpearl, Pichet Ong, I.M. Pei, Qin Shu Pei, Tan Dun, Oscar Tang, Eugenie Tsai, and Shen Wei.


Gala Committee Members in attendance were Sharon Bush, Gina Lin Chu, Amy Fine Collins, Winnie Feng, Dora Fung, Lucia Hwong Gordon, Karen Hsu, Carolyn Hsu-Balcer, Caroline Hyman, Chiu-Ti Jansen, Harold Koda, Ida Liu, Amy Tsui Luke, Angel Sheng, Ming Sheng, Susan Shin, Valerie Steele, Claudia Suan, Lulu C. Wang, Willy Wong, Diane Woo, and Wen Zhou.


MOCA is honored by the attendance of city and government officials: Kate Levin (Commissioner of the Department of Cultural Affairs), and John C. Liu (City Comptroller); as well as the participation of Sun Guoxiang (Consulate General of the People’s Republic of China in New York City).


Photographs for media use are available via Patrick McMullan and Getty Images.


Many thanks to The New York Observer and YUE Magazine, the official media sponsors of the gala.