Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏Collections馆藏

The Chinese Tuxedo restaurant opened in 1897 at 2 Doyers Street in New York’s Chinatown. It opened at a time when serval other upscale Chinese restaurants were also popping up, all attempting to take advantage of the influx of non-Chinese tourism to Chinatown. The restaurant was decorated with elaborate chandeliers and tables with decorative patterns, chosen to appeal to visitors looking for an “exotic” experience. The restaurant was best known for its ornate eagle crowned balcony, which served as advertising that could be seen from the now defunct Third Avenue El train. The restaurant closed sometime in the mid- 1900s.